European Committee for Standardization

History and Agreements
– CEN was founded in 1961.
– CEN works together with CENELEC and ETSI.
– The European Parliament noted in a resolution that a merger of the three standardization bodies would not have clear advantages.
ASTM International and CEN have agreed to extend and expand a Technical Cooperation Agreement from 2019.
– The Vienna Agreement was signed by CEN and ISO in 1991.
– The Vienna Agreement aims to avoid duplication of potentially conflicting standards between CEN and ISO.
– The Vienna Agreement came into force in the mid-2000s.
– The primary aim of the Vienna Agreement is to avoid duplication of standards.

– CEN members include all member states of the European Union.
– CEN members also include three EFTA members: Iceland, Norway, Switzerland.
– Other states that are CEN members are the United Kingdom, North Macedonia, Turkey, Serbia.
– CEN affiliates include Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Tunisia, and Ukraine.
– CEN partner standardization bodies include Australia, Canada, Mongolia, and Kazakhstan.

Related Organizations
– ANEC (organisation), the European consumer voice in standardization.
– CENELEC is the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization.
– Ecma International.
– Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements.

– Council Directive 83/189/EEC of 28 March 1983 recognizes CEN and CENELEC as European standards institutions.
– Directive 98/34/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 June 1998 lays down a procedure.
– The European Parliament resolution on Efficiency and Accountability in European Standardisation.
– CEN/CENELEC platform.
– ASTM International and CEN extend and expand cooperation program.

Notable Points
– CEN has adopted a number of ISO standards which replaced the corresponding CEN standards.Sources: