States and territories of Australia

States and Territories of Australia
– Australia is divided into six federated states: New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.
– There are ten federal territories in Australia, including the Australian Capital Territory, the Jervis Bay Territory, and the Northern Territory.
– Each state and internal territory has its own independent executive government, legislative branch, and judicial system.
– The federal government has the authority to override territorial legislation.
– External territories are governed by the federal Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts.

Geography of Australia
– Australia is surrounded by the Indian, Pacific, and Southern oceans.
– It is separated from Maritime Southeast Asia and New Guinea by the Arafura Sea, Timor Sea, and Torres Strait.
– The mainland coastline of Australia is 32,994 kilometres long.
– Australia is the sixth largest country by land area and the world’s largest island.
– It claims an Exclusive Economic Zone of about 8,200,000 square kilometres.

Borders of Australian States and Territories
– The Australian Capital Territory borders New South Wales.
– New South Wales borders Queensland, Victoria, South Australia, and the Australian Capital Territory.
– Queensland borders the Northern Territory and New South Wales.
– South Australia borders the Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, and Western Australia.
– Tasmania borders Victoria.

Territorial Evolution of Australia
– At Federation in 1901, the Northern Territory was within South Australia.
– The Australian Capital Territory and Jervis Bay Territory were within New South Wales.
– Coral Sea Islands was part of Queensland.
– Ashmore and Cartier Islands were accepted by Australia in 1934 and annexed to the Northern Territory.
– Norfolk Island had its own legislature from 1979 to 2015.

Integration and Administration of Territories
– Each external territory in Australia is regulated by an Act of the federal Parliament.
– The Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Christmas Island comprise the Australian Indian Ocean Territories.
– The central government treats the Heard Island and McDonald Islands as constitutionally part of Australia.
– The status of Norfolk Island is controversial, with measures taken to integrate it into Australia proper.
– Territories with small populations have limited representation in the federal government.Sources: