Australian Qualifications Framework

AQF Levels and Qualifications
– The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) consists of 10 levels, ranging from Level 1 to Level 10.
– Formal qualifications are aligned to the appropriate levels in the AQF.
– Each level corresponds to specific knowledge, skills, and qualifications.
– The typical time required to complete qualifications at each level varies from 0.5 to 4 years.

Schools Sector
– The Senior Secondary Certificate of Education (SSCE) is the graduation certificate awarded to most Australian high school students.
– The curriculum, assessment, and name of the SSCE differ in each state and territory.
– The Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) is a nationally standardized final score for SSCE students used by universities for selecting domestic students.
– The International Baccalaureate (IB) and Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) Year 12 Academic Certificate are competing qualifications outside the AQF.
– The IB is widely accepted by universities, while ACE has lesser support and may require additional tests like the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT).

Vocational Education and Training (VET) and Higher Education Sectors
– VET courses are primarily taken by individuals aged over 18, while some students enter at the minimum school-leaving age of 16.
– VET courses are practical in nature and delivered by TAFE colleges or registered training organizations.
– Higher Education courses take three years or longer to complete, are academic in nature, and are delivered by universities.
– Mutual recognition of qualifications between VET and Higher Education sectors has been encouraged, with Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) implemented.

Certificates I-IV
– Certificates I-IV are basic qualifications that prepare candidates for employment and further education.
– There is no fixed duration for these qualifications.
– Entry for Certificate III and Certificate IV courses requires the completion of Year 10 or Year 11 education, respectively.
– Certificates I-II provide basic vocational skills and knowledge, while Certificates III-IV provide training in more advanced skills.
– These courses are usually delivered by TAFE colleges, community education centers, and private training providers.

Diploma, Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma, Masters Degree, and Doctoral Degree
– Courses at Diploma, Advanced Diploma, and Associate Degree level take one to three years to complete.
– Diplomas and Advanced Diplomas are more practical in nature, while Associate Degrees are more academic.
– Entry into Diploma and Advanced Diploma courses requires the completion of Year 12 education.
– Graduate Certificates typically take six months to complete, while Graduate Diplomas typically take twelve months to complete.
– Masters Degrees require a completed bachelors degree and can be completed through coursework, research, or extended programs.
– Doctoral Degrees are the highest qualification awarded by a university and require completion of a major thesis.Sources: